About Cody!

Hi there! I'm Cody, a Midwesterner putting down roots in Scandinavia a hoping to find the meaning of life in "hygge" and "smørrebrød". I was born and raised in Iowa but fell in love with Denmark while studying abroad in college and I still can't believe that four years later I'm back working as a Software Engineer at Microsoft Development Center Copenhagen.

Along the way I've lived in Germany and Estonia and visited most of Europe in an effort to find the best local cuisine and chinese food. It's been a delicious journey. My wanderlust isn't restricted to "reality", though, and I often look to books, TV, and film to discover new worlds. BBC greats such as Doctor Who and Sherlock, as well as US dramas such as Supernatural and Breaking Bad have stolen my heart. George R. R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones) shares the throne with Ender's Game for my favorite fantasy and sci-fi books.

I occassionally go somewhere or make something cool and write about it, so you can follow along on my new blog to stay informed. You can also read about my previous adventures abroad on my old blog.


This map shows each country I've visited in Europe. My goal is to paint the whole map by the time I'm 30. Hover over a country to learn a bit about my experience there.


I love to curl up in the summer sun and read a book. No that's ok, you go swim, I'll guard our stuff.

You really should know: I am terrible at chess. I much prefer Settlers of Catan, Cacassonne, or other tabletop games.

I have passions and I love to share them. Do you have an hour or two? Oh, and I'd love to hear about yours too!

At the age of 20 I'd never left the midwest. Now I've lived in four different countries and visited over a dozen and counting.


My education is in Software Engineering and my early work and personal project experience was primarily in Java and Android based applications including this Guild Wars 2 Android app on the google play store and this Android app made for a research team. I also have some experience as a Teaching Assistant for a Big-Data course touching on Hadoop MapReduce, Pig, Hive, and Streams processing. More recently I've been buidling node.js apps and sites including several extensions for Visual Studio Code. Checkout my portfolio for a bigger sample of my work.

In addition to technical skills, I have worked hard to develop several soft skills. I've shared my passions with others through tours, outreach and recruitment events, and serving as a liason to international students to build my "Evangelist" skills.


Evangelising (Passionate Info Sessions, Presentations, Tours)
90% Complete
Typescript + Node
75% Complete
75% Complete
75% Complete
75% Complete
65% Complete
Ruby on Rails
50% Complete
Big Data (Hadoop MapReduce, Pig, Hive)
50% Complete
German (A2/B1 Level)
50% Complete